Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



CHINA EVERBRIGHT INTERNATIONAL LIMITED

中國光大國際有限公司

(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability) (Stock Code : 257)

CHANGE IN DIRECTORSHIP

Resignation of Director

The board of directors (the "Board") of China Everbright International Limited (the "Company") announces that due to pressure of work, Sir David Akers-Jones ("Sir David") has given notice to the Board to resign as an Independent Non-executive Director, the Chairman and a member of the Audit Committee and a member of the Remuneration Committee of the Company with effect from 1 January 2011.

Sir David confirmed that he has no disagreement with the Board and there are no other matters relating to his resignation that need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company.

The Board is also pleased to announce that Mr. Mar Selwyn has been appointed as the Chairman of the Audit Committee of the Company with effect from 1 January 2011.

The Board would like to thank Sir David for his valuable contribution to the Company in the past.

Appointment of Director

The Board is pleased to announce that Mr. Zhai Haitao has been appointed as an Independent Non-executive Director, a member of the Audit Committee and a member of the Remuneration Committee of the Company with effect from 1 January 2011.

Mr. Zhai, aged 41, is the President and Partner of Primavera Capital Group. He was formerly Managing Director of Goldman Sachs Asia LLC and Chief Representative of Goldman Sachs Beijing Office. Prior to joining Goldman Sachs, Mr. Zhai worked at the International Department of the People's Bank of China in Beijing, and was Deputy Representative of the People's Bank of China Representative Office for the Americas based in New York. He holds a Master's Degree in International Relations from Columbia University, a Master of Business Administration Degree from New York University and a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Economics from Peking University. He has comprehensive experience and knowledge in banking, capital market and management.

Mr. Zhai did not hold any other directorship in any listed company during the past three years. As at the date of the announcement, Mr. Zhai does not have any interest in the shares of the Company within the meaning of Part XV of the SFO. Mr. Zhai is not connected to any director, senior management or substantial or controlling shareholders of the Company.

Mr. Zhai will be appointed for a term of one year until 31 December 2011 and subject to retirement by rotation and re-election at the annual general meeting of the Company in accordance with the Articles of Association of the Company. He is entitled to have a director's fee of HK\$180,000 per annum which is subject to the approval of the Board by reference to the prevailing market conditions and subject to the shareholders' approval at the annual general meeting of the Company. He is also entitled to a meeting allowance of HK\$5,000 for each meeting of the Company.

Save as disclosed above, the Board is not aware of any other matters or information that need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company or to be disclosed pursuant to Rule 13.51(2) of the Listing Rules in relation to the aforesaid appointment of director.

The Board would like to express its warmest welcome to Mr. Zhai in joining the Company as an Independent Non-executive Director.

By Order of the Board China Everbright International Limited Chen Xiaoping Chief Executive Officer

Hong Kong, 29 November 2010

As at the date of this announcement, the Board comprises : (i) 7 executive directors, namely Mr. Tang Shuangning, Mr. Zang Qiutao, Mr. Li Xueming, Mr. Chen Xiaoping, Mr. Wang Tianyi, Mr. Raymond Wong Kam Chung and Mr. Cai Shuguang; (ii) 1 non-executive director, Mr. Philip Fan Yan Hok; and (iii) 3 independent non-executive directors, namely Sir David Akers-Jones, Mr. Aubrey Li Kwok Sing and Mr. Selwyn Mar.