Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



CHINA EVERBRIGHT INTERNATIONAL LIMITED

中國光大國際有限公司

(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability)
(Stock Code: 257)

CHANGE IN DIRECTORSHIP

Resignation of Director

The board of directors (the "Board") of China Everbright International Limited (the "Company") announces that Ms. Zhang Weiyun resigned as an Executive Director and a member of the Executive Committee of the Company with effect from 19 August 2010.

Ms. Zhang confirmed that her resignation is for focusing on other work and she has no disagreement with the Board and there are no other matters relating to her resignation that need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company.

The Board would like to thank Ms. Zhang for her valuable contribution to the Company in the past.

Appointment of Director

The Board is pleased to announce that Mr. Cai Shuguang has been appointed as an Executive Director and a member of the Executive Committee of the Company with effect from 19 August 2010. Prior to his appointment, Mr. Cai is also a member of the Management Committee and acts as director of several subsidiaries of the Company.

Mr. Cai, aged 54, is the Managing Director of China Everbright Environmental Energy Limited and Everbright Environmental Energy (Suzhou) Limited. Prior to joining the group, he was formerly Deputy General Manager of Shenzhen Kingway Brewery Limited. He graduated from the Department of Computer Science from Shanghai Fudan University and holds a Master of Business Administration Degree from the University of Ballarat in Australia. He holds the title of senior engineer. Mr. Cai has comprehensive experience and knowledge in corporate

management and project planning.

Mr. Cai did not hold any other directorship in any listed company during the past three years. As at the date of the announcement, Mr. Cai does not have any interest in the shares of the Company within the meaning of Part XV of the SFO. Mr. Cai is not connected to any director, senior management or substantial or controlling shareholders of the Company.

Mr. Cai is entitled to an annual remuneration of HK\$450,000 as managing director of a subsidiary of the Company and a meeting allowance of HK\$5,000 for each meeting of the Company. He is also entitled to a year end discretionary bonus determined by the Remuneration Committee at its absolute discretion having regard to the Company's performance and the market situation. There is no director's service contract entered into between the Company and Mr. Cai and he was not appointed for a specific term except that he is subject to retirement by rotation and re-election at the annual general meeting of the Company in accordance with the Articles of Association of the Company. There is no agreement in respect of the director's remuneration of Mr. Cai and his director's remuneration will be determined by the Remuneration Committee by reference to the market conditions and subject to the shareholders' approval at the annual general meeting of the Company.

Save as disclosed above, the Board is not aware of any other matters or information that need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company or to be disclosed pursuant to Rule 13.51(2) of the Listing Rules in relation to the aforesaid appointment of director.

The Board would like to express its warmest welcome to Mr. Cai in joining the Company as an Executive Director.

By Order of the Board

China Everbright International Limited

Chen Xiaoping

Chief Executive Officer

Hong Kong, 19 August 2010

As at the date of this announcement, the Board comprises: (i) 7 executive directors, namely Mr. Tang Shuangning, Mr. Zang Qiutao, Mr. Li Xueming, Mr. Chen Xiaoping, Mr. Wang Tianyi, Mr. Raymond Wong Kam Chung and Mr. Cai Shuguang; (ii) 1 non-executive director, Mr. Philip Fan Yan Hok; and (iii) 3 independent non-executive directors, namely Sir David Akers-Jones, Mr. Aubrey Li Kwok Sing and Mr. Selwyn Mar.