Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



## CHINA EVERBRIGHT ENVIRONMENT GROUP LIMITED

中國光大環境(集團)有限公司

(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability) (Stock Code: 257)

### POLL RESULTS OF ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING HELD ON 18 MAY 2022 CHANGES IN INDEPENDENT NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR AND COMPOSITION OF THE BOARD COMMITTEES

### POLL RESULTS OF 2022 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

The board of the directors of China Everbright Environment Group Limited (the "Company") is pleased to announce that at the annual general meeting of the Company held on 18 May 2022 (the "2022 AGM"), all the resolutions (the "Resolutions") set out in the notice of 2022 AGM dated 11 April 2022 (the "Notice") were put and duly passed by the shareholders of the Company (the "Shareholders") as ordinary resolutions by way of poll. The poll results in respect of the Resolutions are as follows:

ORDINARY RESOLUTIONS		Number of Votes (%)	
	UKDINAKI KESULUHUNS		Against
1.	To receive and consider the audited consolidated financial statements and the report of the directors and independent auditor's report for the year ended 31 December 2021.	3,888,384,670 (99.85%)	5,690,075 (0.15%)
2.	To declare a final dividend of HK15.0 cents per share for the year ended 31 December 2021.	3,816,688,928 (98.02%)	77,139,817 (1.98%)
3. (1)	To re-elect Mr. WANG Tianyi as an Executive Director of the Company.	3,529,219,051 (90.96%)	350,674,827 (9.04%)
(2)	To re-elect Mr. LUAN Zusheng as an Executive Director of the Company.	3,808,879,035 (98.05%)	75,897,291 (1.95%)
(3)	To re-elect Mr. AN Xuesong as an Executive Director of the Company.	3,794,853,821 (97.69%)	89,922,505 (2.31%)
(4)	To re-elect Mr. SUO Xuquan as an Independent Non- executive Director of the Company.	3,802,201,310 (97.94%)	80,100,160 (2.06%)
(5)	To elect Ms. LI Shuk Yin, Edwina as a new Independent Non-executive Director of the Company.	3,875,970,641 (99.72%)	11,044,685 (0.28%)
(6)	To authorise the board of directors of the Company (the "Board") to fix the remuneration of the directors of the Company for the year ending 31 December 2022.	3,887,786,013 (99.99%)	104 (0.01%)

ORDINARY RESOLUTIONS		Number of Votes (%)	
		For	Against
4.	To re-appoint Ernst & Young as the auditor of the Company and to authorise the Board to fix its remuneration.	3,875,963,772 (99.57%)	16,575,973 (0.43%)
5. (1)	To grant a general mandate to the directors of the Company to issue new shares not exceeding 20% of the total number of issued shares as set out in Ordinary Resolution no. $5(1)^*$ .	2,886,453,615 (74.21 %)	1,002,907,274 (25.79%)
(2)	To grant a general mandate to the directors of the Company to repurchase shares not exceeding 10% of the total number of issued shares as set out in Ordinary Resolution no. $5(2)^*$ .	3,883,837,903 (99.79 %)	7,997,842 (0.21%)
(3)	To extend the general mandate granted to the directors of the Company to issue new shares as set out in Ordinary Resolution no. $5(3)^*$ .	2,949,927,239 (75.89%)	937,194,650 (24.11%)

\*Please refer to the Notice for the full text of the Resolutions

As at the date of the 2022 AGM, the total number of issued and fully paid up shares of the Company was 6,142,975,292 shares, which was the total number of shares entitling the Shareholders to attend and vote on the Resolutions put at the 2022 AGM. None of the Shareholders was required under Rule 13.40 of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "Listing Rules") to abstain from voting in favour of the Resolutions at the 2022 AGM and none of the Shareholders was required under the Listing Rules to abstain from voting at the 2022 AGM. None of the Shareholders stated his/her/its intention in the circular of the Company dated 11 April 2022 (the "Circular") to vote against or to abstain from voting on the Resolutions proposed at the 2022 AGM.

As more than 50% of the votes were cast in favour of resolutions nos. 1 to 5 respectively, each of the Resolutions was duly passed as an ordinary resolution by way of poll at the 2022 AGM.

Tricor Tengis Limited, the share registrar of the Company, acted as the scrutineer for the poll at the 2022 AGM.

Four Executive Directors, namely Mr. WANG Tianyi, Mr. LUAN Zusheng, Mr. QIAN Xiaodong and Mr. AN Xuesong, and four Independent Non-executive Directors, namely Mr. FAN Yan Hok, Philip, Mr. MAR Selwyn, Mr. ZHAI Haitao and Mr. SUO Xuquan, attended the 2022 AGM. Mr. HU Yanguo, could not attend the 2022 AGM due to other important business commitments.

Shareholders may refer to the Circular for details of the Resolutions put at the 2022 AGM, which may be viewed and downloaded from the Company's website at <u>www.cebenvironment.com/en/ir/circulars.php</u> or the designated website of Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited at <u>www.hkexnews.hk</u>.

# CHANGES IN INDEPENDENT NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR AND COMPOSITION OF THE BOARD COMMITTEES

References are made to the announcement of the Company dated 15 March 2022 (the "Announcement") and the Circular.

### Retirement of an Independent Non-executive Director and Board Committee Members

Mr. MAR Selwyn ("Mr. Mar"), an Independent Non-executive Director of the Company ("INED"), retired as an INED with effect from the conclusion of the 2022 AGM. At the same time, Mr. Mar ceased to act as the chairman of the Audit Committee (the "Audit Committee") and a member of each of the Remuneration Committee (the "Remuneration Committee"), Nomination Committee (the "Nomination Committee") and Risk Management Committee (the "Risk Management Committee") of the Company.

Mr. Mar confirmed that he has no disagreement with the Board, and save as disclosed in this announcement, there are no other matters relating to Mr. Mar that need to be brought to the attention of the Shareholders nor any information that needs to be disclosed pursuant to Rule 13.51(2) of the Listing Rules.

#### Appointment of an Independent Non-executive Director and Board Committee Members

The ordinary resolution regarding the election of Ms. LI Shuk Yin, Edwina ("Ms. Li") as an INED was approved by the Shareholders at the 2022 AGM. Ms. Li's term of office commences from the conclusion of the 2022 AGM to the conclusion of the annual general meeting of the Company to be held in 2024. Upon approval of the appointment of Ms. Li as an INED, Ms. Li was appointed as the chairman of the Audit Committee and a member of each of the Remuneration Committee, Nomination Committee and Risk Management Committee. Details of the biography, director's fee and other disclosures of Ms. Li were set out in the Announcement and the Circular. As at the date of this announcement, there has been no change in such information.

The Board would like to express its warmest welcome to Ms. Li in joining the Board.

By Order of the Board China Everbright Environment Group Limited Poon Yuen Ling Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 18 May 2022

Following the conclusion of the 2022 AGM, the Board comprises: (i) five Executive Directors, namely Mr. Wang Tianyi (Chairman of the Board), Mr. Luan Zusheng (Chief Executive Officer), Mr. Hu Yanguo (Vice President), Mr. Qian Xiaodong (Vice President) and An Xuesong (Vice President and Chief Financial Officer); and (ii) four Independent Non-executive Directors, namely Mr. Fan Yan Hok, Philip, Mr. Zhai Haitao, Mr. Suo Xuquan and Ms. Li Shuk Yin, Edwina.