

CHINA EVERBRIGHT INTERNATIONAL LIMITED

中國光大國際有限公司

(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 257)

RESIGNATION OF DIRECTOR

The Board of Directors (the "Board") of China Everbright International Limited (the "Company") announces that due to family reason, Mr. Huang Chaohua resigned as the Executive Director, Deputy General Manager and the Member of the Executive Committee and Management Committee of the Company with effect from 18th May, 2007.

Mr. Huang confirmed that he has no disagreement with the Board and there are no other matters in respect of his resignation that need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company.

The Board would like to thank Mr. Huang for his valuable contribution to the Company in the past.

By Order of the Board China Everbright International Limited Chen Xiaoping Chief Executive Officer

Hong Kong, 18th May, 2007

As at the date of this announcement, the Board comprises of 8 executive directors, namely Mr. Wang Mingquan, Mr. Zang Qiutao, Mr. Li Xueming, Mr. Chen Xiaoping, Mr. Philip Fan Yan Hok, Mr. Raymond Wong Kam Chung, Mr. Chen Shuang and Ms. Zhang Weiyun; and 3 independent non-executive directors, namely Sir David Akers-Jones, Mr. Aubrey Li Kwok Sing and Mr. Selwyn Mar.

"Please also refer to the published version of this announcement in The Standard."